Skip to content

4 (Four) Years Suspension for Doping │ WADA Code 2015

World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)
World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)
Because World Armwrestling Federation (WAF) joined the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) we now must follow WADA rules.
The 2009 WORLD ANTI-DOPING CODE will be in force until the end of the 2014 year.
The 2015 WORLD ANTI-DOPING CODE will be in force starting with 01 January 2015.
Below you can read Significant Changes Between the 2009 Code And the 2015 Code, Version 4.0.
Next you can read the entire 2009 WORLD ANTI-DOPING CODE and at the end you can also read the entire 2015 WORLD ANTI-DOPING CODE.

” Significant Changes Between the 2009 Code
And the 2015 Code, Version 4.0

During the 2015 Code consultation process, 315 separate submissions were received. The
submissions recommended a total of 3,987 changes to the Code. In addition, the Code
Drafting Team engaged in dozens of face-to-face and telephonic meetings with stakeholders
to discuss the Code.

Version 4.0 is the fourth published version of the 2015 Code. In between the published
versions, more than 50 different working drafts were considered. In some cases, changes
from the 2009 Code were made in an early published version and then changed back in a
later version based on continuing stakeholder feedback (for example, the initial proposals to
eliminate the B Sample and to change the criteria for adding a substance or method to the
Prohibited List). In several other cases, changes were made to make the Code language
consistent with the legal opinion on Code enforceability provided by Judge Jean-Paul Costa,
the former President of the European Court of Human Rights.

As was the case with the 2003 and 2009 Codes, stakeholder input was invaluable in making
Version 4.0 of the 2015 Code a more clear and effective document. This input has resulted
in 2,269 changes between the 2009 Code and Version 4.0 of the 2015 Code. All of these
changes are reflected in the document, “Version 4.0 2015 Code redlined to 2009 Code,”
which is posted on WADA’s website. This document provides an overview of those changes
organized into seven general themes, including the key changes related to each theme.

1. Theme One: The 2015 Code amendments provide for longer periods of
Ineligibility for real cheats, and more flexibility in sanctioning in other specific

There was a strong consensus among stakeholders, and in particular, Athletes, that
intentional cheaters should be Ineligible for a period of four years. Under the current Code,
there is the opportunity for a four-year period of Ineligibility for an Adverse Analytical
Finding if the Anti-Doping Organization can show “Aggravating Circumstances.” However, in
the more than four years since that provision has been part of the Code, it has been rarely
used. Some examples of provisions which lengthen the period of Ineligibility for intentional
dopers include:

Article 10.2: For Presence, Use or Possession of a Non-Specified Substance, the
period of Ineligibility is four years, unless the Athlete can establish that the violation was
not intentional. For Specified Substances, the period of Ineligibility is four years, where the
Anti-Doping Organization can prove that the violation was intentional. (Intentional means
that the Athlete or other Person engaged in conduct which he or she knew constituted an
anti-doping rule violation or knew that there was a significant risk that the conduct might
constitute an anti-doping rule violation and manifestly disregarded that risk.) “




Click to see all articles about #

Click to see all articles about #

Doping - Syringe
Doping – Syringe │ Image Source: doping – tumblr